Executive Session

Monday, February 12, 2001

7:05 p.m.


Media Center

Wachusett Regional High School



Committee Members present:

John Rokicki, Vice-Chairman Peter MacDonald

Paul Anderson Lorraine Neilan (7:07 PM)

Jeffrey Gibbs John Nunnari

Kimberly Ferguson Kathleen Singh (7:06 PM)

Sherry Horeanopoulos Rosemary Warren

Jane James Jeffrey Wentzell

Sarah Jordan

David Lowenthal


Committee Members absent:


Duncan Leith, Chairman Paul James

Mary Copeland Kelly Maxwell

Kenneth Fensin Elizabeth Pape


Administration present:


Alfred D. Tutela, Ph.D., Superintendent of Schools

Paul Soojian, Director of Operations

Mary Scott, Director of Administrative Services

Philip Campbell, Director of Student/Information Services

Susan Sullivan, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent


Chairman Duncan Leith left the meeting at 7:05 PM.


Acting Chairman John Rokicki called the executive session to order at 7:05 PM.


The Superintendent updated the Committee on the status of negotiations with WREA. He presented the ceiling of 9% which had been authorized by the Committee and the WREA negotiating team rejected the offer, countering with 13 % over three years: 5%/4%/3%.


There was brief discussion surrounding the employment climate as well as other contracts recently settled.


By consensus the Committee authorized the Superintendent to go as high as 10%.


Motion: To adjourn.


(S. Horeanopoulos)

(J. Gibbs)


Roll call vote:

In favor:

John Rokicki

Paul Anderson

Kimberly Ferguson

Jeffrey Gibbs

Sherry Horeanopoulos

Jane James

Sarah Jordan

Peter MacDonald

Lorraine Neilan

John Nunnari

Rosemary Warren

Jeffrey Wentzell



David Lowenthal

Kathleen Singh


(Motion passed 12-2)


The Committee returned to regular session at 7:21 PM.



Respectfully submitted,


Alfred D. Tutela, Ph.D.

Superintendent of Schools


ADT:ss/School Committee/Minutes