Executive Session, Monday, April 9, 2001

10:43 PM.


Media Center

Wachusett Regional High School


Committee Members present:


                        John Rokicki, Vice-Chairman          David Lowenthal

                        Paul Anderson                                   Peter MacDonald

Jeffrey Gibbs                                     Lorraine Neilan

                        Kimberly Ferguson                           Elizabeth Pape

                        Sherry Horeanopoulos                      Kathleen Singh

                        Sarah Jordan                                       Jeffrey Wentzell


Committee Members absent:


                        Duncan Leith, Chairman                   Paul James

                        Mary Copeland                                  Kelly Maxwell

                        Kenneth Fensin                                  John Nunnari

                        Jane James                                         Rosemary Warren


Administration present:


                        Paul Soojian, Director of Operations

                        Philip Campbell, Director of Student/Information Services

                        Susan Sullivan, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent

                        Rebecca Petersen, Administrative Assistant


Member Sarah Jordan suggested that members let the administration know what they are hearing as to the concerns regarding the teachers contract.  Members mentioned the following items:

                        Unequal sick time

                        Preparation time for elementary teachers

                        Merit pay

                        Personal Day – having to list the reason


Member Sherry Horeanopoulos expressed concern that the School Committee voted on a proposal by the Superintendent to present to the teachers and that the Committee was not given a true picture.  Director Paul Soojian reported that the lack of a ratification vote is a union problem, the negotiating team for the WREA may not have had a good sense of their members’ issues but that the Superintendent absolutely presented accurately what was discussed at the table.


Member Jeffrey Wentzell left the meeting at 10:46 PM.


Motion:  To adjourn

                                                                                    (S. Jordan)

                                                                                    (S. Horeanopoulos)


Roll call vote:

In favor:

            John Rokicki

            Paul Anderson

            Kimberly Ferguson

            Jeffrey Gibbs

            Sherry Horeanopoulos

            Sarah Jordan

            David Lowenthal

            Peter MacDonald

            Lorraine Neilan

            Elizabeth Pape

            Kathleen Singh





(Motion passed unanimously)


Executive session was adjourned at 11:00 PM.


Respectfully submitted,


Alfred D. Tutela, Ph.D.

Superintendent of Schools


ADT:ss  School Committee/Minutes